Fri Apr 25 – 8 pm Ultra-low Surface Brightness Imaging with Project Dragonfly

Roberto_abraham[1]Ultra-low Surface Brightness Imaging with Project Dragonfly

Dr. Roberto Abraham will describe early results from Project Dragonfly, a Toronto/Yale instrument concept whose goal is to open up the new observational regime of ultra low surface brightness astronomy at visible wavelengths. Its design is optimized for testing the most fundamental prediction of galaxy formation models, namely that at low surface brightness levels all galaxies are embedded within a sea of complex substructure.
The project couples innovative observing techniques (multiple redundant unobstructed beam paths and real-time modeling of sky variations for precision control of systematics) with new technologies, such as sub-wavelength nano-fabricated optical coatings to minimize scattered light and ghosting.

Dr. Abraham is a Professor in the Department of Astronomy & Astrophysics at the University of Toronto. He is also the Associate Chair for Graduate Studies in the department.

http://www.astro.utoronto.ca/~abraham/Web/Welcome.html

We usually continue the discussion post-meeting at a local restaurant/bar – please join us!

 

How to get here

The next Speaker Night of the RASC Mississauga Centre will take place on Friday February 21 at 8:00 p.m. at The University of Toronto, Mississauga Campus, in lecture hall SE2082 in the William Davis Building (AKA the South building).

Park in lot 4 or the parkade, across from the fitness centre south of the Davis Building. (Parking rate: $2 per hour.)

Enter through the Fitness centre, walk up the stairs until you reach the main corridor then turn right. (If you need an elevator, follow the corridor to the right of the stairs all the way to the end, then go up to the main floor.) Look for the Mississauga Centre sign in front of the lecture room.

 

Upcoming Meetings

Tue May 06 or Wed May 07: Public Star Party at Riverwood.
Fri May 09: Meeting at UTM.
Fri May 23: Speaker at UTM – Pat Hall, York U “Black Holes and Quasars”.

Tue June 3 or Wed June 4: Public Star Party at Riverwood.
Fri June 6: Astronomy Potpourri at UTM.
Fri June 20: Speaker at UTM – Keith Vanderlinde, U of Toronto, “CHIME: Mapping the Universe with Canada’s newest Radio Telescope”.

Tue July 8 or Wed July 9: Public Star Party at Riverwood.
Fri July 18: Astronomy Potpourri at UTM.

Leave a Reply