About US

The Royal Astronomical Society of Canada (RASC) began as the Toronto Astronomical Club on December 1, 1868. The eight who gathered to share their interest were not professional astronomers, they were working-class citizens with a passion for astronomy.

One hundred and fifty-three years later, the RASC continues to serve Canadians who share that same passion for astronomy. With more than five thousand members and twenty-nine centres across the country, the organization supports people of all ages in their quest to learn more about the universe.


The Mississauga Centre of The Royal Astronomical Society of Canada started out as the Mississauga Astronomical Society in 2003. It became the Mississauga Centre in 2006. Membership is open to everyone interested in learning more about astronomy, space science and the workings of the Universe.

Meetings are held in-person at the University of Toronto – Mississauga and over Zoom. We thank our partners at UTM for supporting our group since 2003.

Join as a member to receive valuable benefits, including our Observer’s Handbook, The RASC Journal, and invitations to special events. Mississauga Centre members can borrow a telescope from the Centre’s collection. The RASC wants everyone to enjoy astronomy.

To join, visit the National RASC website’s member signup page, and join as a member of the Mississauga Centre. You can join as a Regular Member, as a Youth Member (25 years or younger), or to include all the astronomers in your family, choose the Family membership option.


Current Council (as of February 2024)


Allan Connery
Kirby Alguire
Chris Malicki
Anil Mathur
Past President:
J. Randy Attwood
Honorary President:
Dr Ulrich (Ulli) Krull


Robin Metcalfe
Swapna Shrivastava
Betty Robinson
Keith Jarvie
Rob Neill
Val Connery
National Council Representative:
J. Randy Attwood


Membership Secretary:
John Marchese
Observing Committee Chair:
Kirby Alguire, Jo VandenDool
Astrophotography Committee Chair:
Position Vacant
Awards Committee Chair:
Position Vacant
IT Committee Chair:
Rob Neill